Our Journey with Alzheimer’s – Notes from My Journal, June 28, 2016

 

“God usually answers our prayer so much more according to the measure of His own magnificence than our asking that we do not recognize His benefits to those for which we sought Him.” Coventry Patmore

On April 1, 2007 I made this note in my Caregiver’s Journal.

“Today I became a writer.  I had an epiphany – an “aha” moment for me.  I hurried to the car to find a pen. I scribbled a note on the back of my Target sales receipt.  I didn’t want to lose my nugget of wisdom.  Later in the day I grabbed a pen while shaving.  I didn’t want to lose another gem, a perfect descriptive phrase.”

Over nine years have passed since my remarkable epiphany. Two years later in the fall of 2009 I had another epiphany of sorts. I’ll describe it this way: in an excerpt from an assignment in a writing workshop series sponsored by the Bridgman Library, I wrote:

I have a great idea. I know what I’m working on. I just need a push in the right direction and some guidance through the inevitable pitfalls along the way.

I naively completed a questionnaire stating my premise of writing A Caregiver’s Journey – One Man’s Commitment to Caregiving. I then prepared a time line of weekly goals I needed to achieve in order to write a rough draft of from 35,000 to 60,000 words. I had set a goal finishing the rough draft ready for my first edit.

 

A lot has happened in the nearly seven years since then. The manuscript was not completed as planned.

 

The story is still in the making.  Today is a new beginning of another chapter on an unknown story of our journey; a day at a time in a walk of faith with Thelma, an amazing lady.

 

“…so walk…just as you were instructed…overflowing with gratitude.”

From the writing of the Apostle Paul in a letter to the Colossians

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Our Journey with Alzheimer’s – Notes from My Journal, June 28, 2016

Leave a Reply

